Sunday wrap: Queensland

A bumper weekend of racing action has come to a close, find out who the big winners were from a jam-packed Shannons Nationals round at Queensland Raceway.

Seven categories produced some epic battles, frantic finishes and a host of results that have had a major impact on series’ title fights.

Here’s how it all went down on Sunday:

carsales TCR Australia Series

The popular back-to-back Sunday race format was on show for the first time at Queensland Raceway and the category didn’t disappoint.

Dylan O’Keefe put the pressure on Series leader Will Brown with a victory in race two, while Russell Ingall continues to wind back the clock claiming second spot in the Audi.

Aaron Cameron rounded out the race two podium claiming third.

O’Keefe continued his hot streak of form in race three, claiming an impressive lights-to-flag victory as he edges closer to Brown in the title fight.

Ingall claimed another second place, while Tony D’Alberto rounded out the weekend’s final podium.

The full Series standings can be found here.

TCR’s next race takes place at Winton on 31 August – 1 September.

Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia

Harri Jones added another race win to his weekend tally, edging out Christian Pancione and Max Vidau on Sunday’s morning final race.

In the TAG Heuer Pro-Am class, it was a clean sweep for local racer Brett Boulton – while Andrew Goldie saluted in the final race of the weekend in Class B.

The Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia return to the Shannons Nationals at Sandown in September.

MRF Tyres Australian Production Car Series

It was the perfect weekend for Beric Lynton and Tim Lahey – following up last night’s Fight in the Night victory with a win in today’s 300km race.

Lynton and Leahey have now won four of the last five Fights in the Night together at Queensland Raceway, however in the past the pair have failed to convert that into further results on Sunday. That changed today with the BMW M3 dominating the race despite the best efforts of the BMW M4 of Grant and Iain Sherrin.

Check out all the results across the classes here.

The MRF Tyres Australian Production Car Series next races at Sandown for the penultimate round of the Shannons Nationals in September.

Australian Prototype Series

It was a dramatic race two for Series leader David Barram who enjoyed a tight battle with Daniel Gonzalez. It all came down to the final lap when Gonzalez ended up in the back of Barram’s Chiron – both drivers unable to finish the race with terminal damage.

That left the door open for 2018 Series winner Jason Makris to claim the race two win and narrow the gap to Barram in the Series standings. John-Paul Drake and Paul Trengove rounded out the top three.

The third and final race saw a jumbled grid, with Barram and Gonzalez charging through the field – but Gonzalez broke through for his first ever race victory in a weekend of mixed results for the relative newcomer. Mark Laucke claimed second, while Makris finished third in the final race.

Prototypes will compete at the next round of the Shannons Nationals at Winton later this month.

National Sports Sedans

One race remained on Sunday and Tony Ricciardello completed a clean sweep of the event – untroubled throughout the event.

Victorian Jordan Caruso came closest to stopping Ricciardello’s clean sweep, but ended the final race nine seconds behind the West Australian.

Phil Crompton rounded out the podium for the final race on Sunday afternoon.

MCA Suspension Queensland IPRA

With both Zac Hudson and Troy Marinelli each taking out a race win in Saturday’s action, it all came down to Sunday’s race and it was the Hudson who eventually prevailed, continuing his good season form.

The Mazda Rx7 pilot finished ahead of Aaron Lawrence in the Nissan Silvia and fellow Rx7 driver Simon O’dell Fontana as Marinelli had a disappointing end to the weekend with sixth in the final race.

The local Queensland series now heads back to Morgan Park for the final round of the 2019 season on 27 – 28 September.

Series X3 Queensland

The team’s finished their round with a tight final race on Sunday morning.

Cameron Bartholomew took out the race three win, ahead of Tyrone Gautier and race one and two winner, Cameron Wilson.

The Queensland locals produced three races of bumper-to-bumper racing throughout the field.