Shannons to host TCR Australia

The Shannons Nationals will host all seven rounds of the inaugural TCR Australia season in 2019.

Coinciding with the Nationals, the series will kick off their season at Sydney Motorsport Park in May before attending a variety of circuits around Australia including Phillip Island, Sandown Raceway, Queensland Raceway and Winton Motor Raceway.

The series will also get their first taste of The Bend in July before heading there again for the final round of the year in November.

Shannons Nationals Director Michael Smith was thrilled with the category’s commitment to the new seven-round Nationals format following a successful 2018.

“We are absolutely delighted to be welcoming the TCR Australia Series to the Nationals in 2019,” Smith said.

“There is a genuine excitement about this category coming to Australia and we can’t wait to host what will be a really competitive and accessible category on some of the best tracks in Australia.

“In 2019, our expanded seven round calendar promises to deliver a really diverse range of motor sport, featuring some new categories, like TCR, as well as categories that already have a strong following.

“After significant investment in our media product for the Nationals this year, we’re expecting an even better product to showcase some terrific motor sport, including TCR, in 2019 and beyond.”

Outside of the Nationals, TCR Australia could also host other non-championship events during the season, with dates, race formats and other series regulations yet to be released.

Matt Braid, director of the TCR Australia’s promoter, Australian Racing Group, was also extremely happy with the announcement, commending the flexibility of the 2019 calendar.

“Releasing the calendar is a great milestone for TCR Australia, and we are very pleased to launch the category alongside the Shannons Nationals events,” said Matt Braid.

“The seven events at six circuits give us variety at the best permanent circuits in Australia.

“The events give us great flexibility on race formats too, and we look forward to announcing those in the coming weeks.

“TCR Australia is one of most anticipated new racing categories to land on the Australian motorsport scene in many years. It will be fresh, exciting and action-packed.

“There are still a number of factors to confirm, including the broadcasting of the events, and we will be excited to announce the best series for the teams and drivers that commit to the series.”

TCR Australia will hold a special media and competitors launch at Sydney Motorsport Park on Monday 19 November with an official season launch to occur next year.


Round 1: Sydney Motorsport Park, 17-19 May
Round 2: Phillip Island, 6-9 June
Round 3: The Bend Motorsport Park, 12-14 July
Round 4: Queensland Raceway, 2-4 August
Round 5: Winton, 31 August-1 September
Round 6: Sandown, 20-22 September
Round 7: The Bend Motorsport Park, 15-17 November
Non-championship events: Date and location TBA