Shannons to enjoy a handful of Trans-Am

The Turtle Wax Trans Am Series will once again have a continued presence at the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships next year after the series announced its 2022 calendar.

With six rounds and a special standalone event to feature in the series’ busy schedule next year, five of the rounds will be part of the Shannons bill.

Following on from the category’s opening round at Symmons Plains in February, the Shannons round at the iconic Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit is the next event on the calendar.

The next two rounds will see the category stay in New South Wales with April’s Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour at the iconic Mount Panorama to be succeeded by a venue yet to be confirmed.

The series will then enjoy its first ever official appearances at both Queensland Raceway and Sandown International Raceway – the former to host the category in August and the latter in September.

The category will then go off to Bathurst again for the special Trans Am 100 in November as part of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International.

Australian Racing Group CEO Matt Braid was pleased to confirm the calendar for the fast-growing series.

“The Turtle Wax Trans Am Series has fast become a shining light on the Australian motorsport scene,” Braid said.

“With over 70 cars in the country now and even more on the way, this class is no longer a sleeping giant.

“This six-round calendar for 2022 gives the competitors a balanced and rounded series, with events in all three eastern seaboard states, plus Tasmania, and two races at Mount Panorama – one for series points and one at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International.

“There is a lot to be excited about in the world of Trans Am, and the 2022 calendar is just the start of an exciting future on the national racing scene.”

The 2022 Turtle Wax Trans Am Series begins at Symmons Plains on 11-13 February, while its first Shannons round will be at Phillip Island on 18-20 March.

2022 Turtle Wax Trans Am Series
Round 1: Symmons Plains – 11-13 February
Round 2: Phillip Island – 18-20 March
Round 3: Mount Panorama, Bathurst – 15-17 April
Round 4: TBA, NSW
Round 5: Queensland Raceway – 5-7 August
Round 6: Sandown – 16-18 September

Special Event
Bathurst 100: Supercheap Auto Bathurst International – Nov 11-13