Shannons Nationals’ graduates take on Bathurst

This weekend the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour will kick-off this season’s Australian motor racing calendar, with several Shannons Nationals graduates making up the international field.

Drivers from open-wheel to production car backgrounds have stepped up to the GT challenge that’ll begin this Sunday morning.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia

One of our most promising and exciting exports is Matt Campbell, who competed in the 2014 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge season.

Campbell joins the Pro-Am entry at Competition Motorsports, sharing a Porsche 991 GT3R with David Calvert-Jones, Patrick Long and Alex Davison.

Reigning Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia champion Jordan Love will also join the field, competing in the MARC class alongside John Goodacre and Peter Major.

Last year’s runner-up Brenton Grove also returns, racing alongside his father Brenton and Ben Barker in the GT3 Cup class.

Australian Production Car Series 

Thanks to an ever-competitive field in the 2017 season of the Australian Production Car Series, Chaz Mostert and Paul Morris return to Mount Panorama this weekend.

The duo who won the Bathurst 1000 together in 2014 headline a list of production car graduates, including the likes of Matthew Brabham, Aaron Seton, Dylan Thomas, Tyler Everingham and Kyle Alford.

CAMS Australian Formula 4 Championship

Australian Formula 4 has a string of drivers competing in this year’s 12 Hour, including their recently crowned champion Nick Rowe.

Majority of the young racers will compete in the MARC class, which includes Zane Goddard, Drew Ridge, Tyler Everingham and 2016 champion Will Brown.

Caitlin Wood will also return after her global stints in the KTM X-Bow GT4.

CAMS Australian Endurance Championship

Naturally, the list of racers that competed in the CAMS Australian Endurance Championship in 2017 at Shannons Nationals rounds make up this weekend’s field at Mount Panorama.

Outright champions Peter Hackett and Dominic Storey are absent from the grid, however the competition will be still be strong with the likes of Shane van Gisbergen, Scott McLaughlin and Jamie Whincup just to name a few…

View the 2018 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour entry list.

Keep an eye on… 

This weekend one of the support categories is the rejuvenated Radical Australia Cup series, which enters its first round of the season at the Mountain.

Reigning champion Peter Paddon will be one to watch as he’ll aim to continue his winning streak, however don’t count out Kim Burke who is always an outright chance in his RSX.