Shannons Day 2 Wrap

Australian Production Car Series 

Grant and Iain Sherrin

Grant and Iain Sherrin have won the final round of the Australian Production Car Series, taking back-to-back wins at Wakefield Park.

The Sherrins had a trouble-free race, leading the field throughout the 30o-kilometre stint, which also led them to winning the 2017 Australian Production Car Cup.

Lachlan Gibbons and Dimitri Agathos achieved a personal best result finishing second behind the Sherrin Racing M4.

Anthony Soole and David Giugni rounded out today’s podium, while first home for B1 and fourth outright went to Scott Gore and Patrick Galang.

Class C went to Colin Osborne and Hadrian Morrall while brothers Blake and Kyle Aubin sealed the D class victory.

B2 went to Troy Williams and Gordon Wilson, while Jason Walsh and Paul Currie led a competitive class E field in today’s race.

Electrical dramas stalled Nathan Morcom and Andre Heimgartner, who had to settle for seventh in today’s race.


CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series presented by Pirelli

Steve McLaughlan

Steve McLaughlan has sealed his second national title at Wakefield Park, after winning both races in the CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series.

Qualifying on the front row, McLaughlan got the jump over pole sitter Richard Gartner in the first race.

In Race 2 the Audi driver led the entire 50-minute encounter, handing him both the round win and the 2017 series.

Pushing McLaughlan hard throughout the weekend was the Lamborghini of Gartner, who banked a pair of second place finishes across both races.

Rounding out the Trophy Class podium was the impressive Rio Nugara, who was one of just four drivers to set a sub-60-second time in qualifying on Saturday.

In the Challenge class, Mark Griffith sealed the title with second in class behind Andrew Clarke in Race 2.

Griffith had been forced out of the opening race with a suspension problem, while Jamie Arratoon saw his hopes of the Challenge Class title evaporate with mechanical gremlins throughout Race 2.


Circuit Excel Nationals

Cam Wilson

Cam Wilson has claimed back-to-back Circuit Excel National titles, after winning today’s final race at Wakefield Park.

The Queenslander battle hard amongst the younger drivers in the field, with 15-year-old Jaylyn Robotham taking the lead on several occasions in the race.

The 21-lap encounter saw Wilson cross the line by just eight-tenths of a second, with Robotham second in the title chase.

Ben Bargwanna gave it his all having a shot at taking the title, racing hard to cross the chequered third.

Brett Parish was fourth while Victorian racers Jordyn Sinni and Adam Bywater finished fifth and sixth respectively.

Micheal Clemente, Ashley Wright, Marcus Fraser and David Wood rounded out the top 10.