Sandown next stop for Shannons

The five categories that will take centre stage in the Shannons Nationals at Sandown in May have been confirmed with the Australian GT Championship to headline once again.

It is the third round for the CAMS Australian GT Championship after the first round took place at Albert Park during the Formula 1 2018 Rolex Australian Grand Prix and The Bend Motorsport Park hosting the second round.

Tony D’Alberto and Max Twigg (404) lead the standings by just two points ahead of Liam Talbot and John Martin (402), while last year’s Sandown round winner Steve McLaughlin is not competing in the championship this year.

A Shannons major drawcard, Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia, will once again returns Sandown’s Shannons Nationals after a brilliant first round at the Bend, as young talents Max Vidau and Cooper Murray lead the competition.

Last year saw Sam Shahin produce an incredible feat by winning the Sandown round without winning an actual race, with Jordan Love winning two and Brenton Grove the other.

The Australian Prototype Series presented by Hot Wheels enter Sandown for the second round of their 2018 series with Peter Paddon leading after a first round win in Tailem Bend.

Englishman Phil Hughes, who currently sits third in the standings, was victorious at Sandown last year taking out two race wins over Paddon, despite not using second gear all weekend.

Paddon goes into the Nationals also leading the Radical Australia Cup for its third round in 2018, although Kim Burke is just four points behind on 70 points.

It will be a difficult task for Burke to catch the current leader after Paddon won last year’s corresponding round ahead of David Crampton.

After a brief absence from Sandown with the Shannons Nationals, the Australian Production Cars Series makes their long awaited return for 2018.

It’s the first round of six for the popular series’ 2018 campaign, as a total of 48 entries take part in the event. Some household names will join the field, with motor sport legend John Bowe, Supercars endurance driver Tony D’Alberto, and former Australian Endurance Champion and TV personality Grant Denyer entered.

Defending series winners Iain and Grant Sherrin go into the round as heavy favourites after also winning last year’s corresponding round, while 2017 runner-up Bob Pearson will be looking to go one better with a strong start.

The Shannons Nationals will take place on 11 – 13 May at Sandown Raceway with live coverage of Sunday’s session once again to be available for viewing via motorsportaustraliachampionships.com.au.