Motorsport Australia GT Championship – mid season review

Motorsport Australia GT Championship – mid season review

With plenty to race for in the remaining months of 2022, take a look at how the seasons of our regular Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships categories are shaping up.

The Motorsport Australia GT Championship is preparing to hit the track for the second round of its 2022 season and having completed one round so far, familiar alumni are showing their skills against series regulars.

Next month’s visit to Queensland Raceway will host the second round of this year’s season – four months after the category had its first outing for the year, however the category will have a busy end to the year with the remaining three rounds taking place over consecutive months.

Race winners so far:

Phillip Island:


  • Race 1: Liam Talbot/Chaz Mostert
  • Race 2: Yasser Shahin/Chris Mies


  • Race 1: Gary Higgon/Paul Stokell
  • Race 2: Matt Stoupas

GT Trophy:

  • Race 1: Brad Schumacher
  • Race 2: Brad Schumacher


  • Race 1: Ross Poulakis/Sam Brabham
  • Race 2: Ross Poulakis/Sam Brabham

Upcoming rounds:

  • Queensland Raceway 5-7 August
  • Sandown Raceway 16-18 September
  • The Bend Motorsport Park 21-23 October
  • Mount Panorama 11-13 November

Current standings:

Pro Am:

  1. Yasser Shahin/Chris Mies – 43 points
    Liam Talbot/Chaz Mostert – 43
  2. Tony Bates/David Reynolds – 27
  3. Prince Jefri Ibrahim/Shane van Gisbergen – 25
  4. Stephen Grove/Brenton Grove – 22
  5. Adrian Deitz/Tony D’Alberto – 16


  1. Matt Stoupas – 40 points
  2. Mike Sheargold/Garth Waldan – 36
  3. Garry Higgon/Paul Stokell – 33
  4. Andrew Mcpherson/Ben Porter – 22
  5. James Koundouris/Theo Koundouris – 22
  6. Mark Rosser – 15

GT Trophy:

  1. Brad Schumacher – 50 points
  2. Brett Hobson – 33
  3. Dean Koutsoumidis – 30
  4. Vince Muriti – 25
  5. Michael Bailey – 22
  6. Eric Constantinidis – 8


  1. Ross Poulakis/Sam Brabham – 50 points
  2. Mark Griffith – 36

The opening round of the season at Phillip Island provided plenty of action. In the Pro-Am class Liam Talbot and Repco Supercars Championship star Chaz Mostert got the season off to a strong start. – converting their pole position to victory in race one,

Pro-Am reigning champion Yasser Shahin and Chris Mies took out the round’s second race to put themselves level with Talbot and Mostert.

With only one round having been run in 2022, there is still plenty to play for Tony Bates and David Reynolds only 16-points behind the leaders.

After a solid opening round among the Amateur drivers, Matt Stoupas maintains a close four-point lead over Mike Sheargold and Garth Waldan after recording a class win in the second race of the season.

Despite the championship only holding one official round for the season this far, many have still had their GT fix this year, after competing in May’s LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 hour.

One of those to shine brightest in the international event was Mostert, who was impressive with pole position, while Tony D’Alberto and Adrian Deitz finished fifth overall.

The Motorsport Australia GT Championship season continues at Queensland Raceway on 5-7 August.

Click here to purchase tickets to the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships’ grand return to the Queensland Raceway.